CCE PATTERN (Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation)

Part 1 : Scholastic Areas

  • There will be two terms. The First Term will be from April to September and Second Term from October to March of the subsequent year
  • Each term will have two Formative and one Summative Assessment
  • Assessment will be indicated in Grades
  • The Grading Scale for the Scholastic Areas is a Nine Point Grading Scale
  • Overall grade of Formative Assessments over the two terms (FA1+FA2+FA3+FA4) and the overall grade of Summative Assessment (SA1+SA2) must be given. The total of the two grades which comprises Formative and Summative needs to be given in the relevant column

Part 2 : Co-scholastic Areas

Part 2 consists of Co-scholastic Areas where students are assessed in four parts on a Five Point Grading Scale once in every session.

Part 2(A) :

Life skills consist of
  • Self Awareness
  • Problem Solving
  • Decision Making
  • Critical Thinking
  • Creative Thinking
  • Interpersonal Relationships
  • Effective Communication
  • Empathy
  • Managing Emotions
  • Dealing With Stress

Part 2(B):

  • Work Education

Part 2(C):

  • Visual and Performing Arts

Part 2(D): Altitudes & Values

  • Attitudes towards Teachers, Schoolmates, School Programmes and Environment
  • Value systems refer to the framework which must be developed right through Primary to Secondary level. These are to be filled in after a period of observation over the year by the Class Teacher in consultation with the subject teachers

Part 3: Co-curricular Activities

Part 3 consists of Co-curricular Activities wherein choice in participation and assessment thereof is available .It has two sub parts to be assessed on a five-point grading scale.

Part 3(A)

  • Literary and creative skills
  • Scientific skills
  • Assessment will be indicated in Grades
  • Information and Communication Technology(ICT)
  • Organizational and Leadership Skills(Clubs)

A student will be expected to choose two activities from these four groups and will be assessed on their level of participation and achievement.

Part 3(B) Health and Physical Activities

Eight different kinds of Health and Physical Activities have been provided.

  • Sports/Indigenous sports(Kho-Kho etc.)
  • Swimming
  • Assessment will be indicated in Grades
  • Yoga
  • First Aid

Evaluation of Scholastic aspect:

Part 1: Scholastic Areas Evaluation of Academic Subjects in Classes VI to VIII.

Six assessments are proposed

Type of assessment Percentage of weighting in academic session Termwise weighting
First term
Formative Assessment – 1 10 % FA1 + FA2 = 20%
Formative Assessment – 2 10 %
Summative Assessment – 1 30 % SA1 = 30%
Second term
Formative Assessment – 3 10 % FA3 + FA4 = 20%
Formative Assessment – 4 10 %
Summative Assessment – 2 30 % SA2 = 30%
Total : Formative Assessment (FA) = FA1 + FA2 + FA3 + FA4 = 40 % Summative Assessment (SA) = SA 1 + SA2 = 60%

Grading Scale

Assessment of Scholastic attainments Part 1 will be reported twice in a year. The nine point grading scale for measuring Scholastic achievements is given below:

Grade Marks Range Grade point
A1 91-100 10.0
A2 81-90 9.0
B1 71-80 8.0
B2 61-70 7.0
C1 51-60 6.0
C2 41-50 5.0
D 33-40 4.0
E1 21-32 3.0
E2 00-20 2.0
Minimum qualifying grade in all subjects under Scholastic Domain is D.

All assessment with regard to the academic status of the students shall be done in marks and the assessment will be given in grades.

Co-Scholastic attainments 2(A,B,C & D) and 3(A,B) will be done on 5 point Scale (shown in the table below ).It will be done once in a session.

Grade Grade Points
A 4.1 - 5.0
B 3.1 - 4.0
C 2.1 - 3.0
D 1.1 - 2.0
E 0.0 - 1.0
Minimum qualifying grade in Co-Scholastic Domain is D.

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to
change the world